Griffith Awards Ceremony held at the Gabba

By Terri Butler MP

16 March 2021

Terri Butler MP was honoured to be able to acknowledge Griffith’s unsung local heroes at the 2021 Griffith Australia Day Awards ceremony held on Saturday 13 March 2021.

Ms Butler commended this year’s Griffith Australia Day Awards recipients for their extraordinary contribution through their voluntary work with the Southside community.

“These are the unsung heroes of the Southside who work hard for our community every day,” Ms Butler said.

“They ask for no recognition, and they work incredibly hard to make our community a better place."

The Griffith Australia Day Awards recognise volunteers who perform extraordinary or outstanding voluntary work in the Griffith electorate. This year's recipients were:
  • Candi Kelly, Barny Barnhill, Julie Barnhill, Andrew Grace, Noel Murray, Carl McAlevey, Rodger Graf and Ben Goodwin - Community Friends
  • Luanne Carter - Royals Netball Club
  • Nicole Carey - Camp Hill P&C Association
  • Bill Dahl - Lions Club of Brisbane Camp Hill Carindale
  • Jeff Croll - Brisbane Holland Park Lions Club
  • Chris Dawson and Tracey Olivieri - Friends of South Brisbane Cemetery
  • Stephanie Ford - Norman Creek Catchment Coordinating Committee
  • Angela Christodoulou - Queensland Koala Society
  • Bailey Newbold - Holland Park Meals on Wheels
  • The Easts Tigers Committee
  • Cate Vickers - Bulimba Community Centre
  • Ali Kadri - Charity Australia, Islamic Society of Holland Park and Islamic Council of Queensland
  • Linda Francis - Bulimba Hockey Club
  • Elizabeth Cowie - House Conspiracy and Kurilpa Futures
Volunteers were nominated by locals from our community who wanted these hard-working individuals acknowledged for their tremendous efforts. A committee then selected the recipients.
“I thank the community committee, chaired by Mr Craig Bowen OAM, and joined by the Hon Mr Paul Lucas and Ms Faith Hopkins, who worked diligently in assessing the nominations,” Ms Butler said.

Ms Butler is pleased to be able to continue this local tradition and will soon be seeking nominations for the 2022 Griffith Australia Day Awards.